Loss of Racial stat bonuses when shape shifted.

Any Questions you might have.

Moderators: Dungeon Masters, Hala DM

User avatar
VCaparzo
Master Sage
Master Sage
Posts: 1032
Joined: Tue Mar 10, 2009 4:48 pm

Loss of Racial stat bonuses when shape shifted.

Post by VCaparzo » Wed Feb 03, 2010 5:24 pm

Made the Mantis report, just wanted to bring it up here incase there was something on my end I can do.
Summary 0000280: Loss of racial stat bonuses when shape shifted
Description: I have an Aasimar Druid, Vincent Oselli, that is given +2 Wisdom and Charsima because of his race. Whenever he uses the Animal Shape power he loses these bonuses. At the time of this report he has a 22 wisom and 12 cha, in animal form these numbers drop to 20 and 10 respectively. From my understanding the stats of INT, WIS, and CHA are uneffected by shapechanging. The reason this is a major issue is because of his Wisdom score he gains bonus spell slots, when he loses those two point of wisdom he also loses some of his remembered spells. Quite frustrating when you go to cast a life saving spell and it isn't there.

User avatar
ambrosia
Team Member; Retired with honors
Posts: 3013
Joined: Fri Apr 18, 2008 12:00 am

Re: Loss of Racial stat bonuses when shape shifted.

Post by ambrosia » Wed Feb 03, 2010 6:09 pm

I will let more informed people know if it is a bug or not.



I can say that from my personal experience, my druid, who is a non-custom standard elf, has also always lost WIS points when shifted to another shape. The only way around that personally was to pre-buff my wisdom before shifting, which compensates partially, not entirely, yet is better then nothing. The other thing I do is to fill the spell slots I "loose" on shifting with spells I know I am going to use before the shift. That way, I only "loose" "spent" slots instead of potentially needed spells down the line.
- DM Avani - (retired)

luminance
Master Sage
Master Sage
Posts: 1201
Joined: Mon Jun 15, 2009 4:22 am
Contact:

Re: Loss of Racial stat bonuses when shape shifted.

Post by luminance » Wed Feb 03, 2010 6:25 pm

I know Andy loses stats when she casts shapechange, causing her to lose a LOT of spells, which is one main reason I never ever do it. I don't know if it's the same for druids, but I was told that's supposed to happen.

User avatar
Ronan
The One
The One
Posts: 4136
Joined: Fri Jan 02, 2009 9:22 pm

Re: Loss of Racial stat bonuses when shape shifted.

Post by Ronan » Wed Feb 03, 2010 6:29 pm

luminance wrote:I know Andy loses stats when she casts shapechange, causing her to lose a LOT of spells, which is one main reason I never ever do it. I don't know if it's the same for druids, but I was told that's supposed to happen.
This is possibly due to the amount of +int gear she wears, as well as spell slot gear- neither will transfer in the shapeshift :D

Temporary spells WILL carry over to the new form; fox's cunning is highly recommended!

Team members are free to smite me and delete this for answering here. *hides*
It is possible to commit no mistakes and still lose. That is not weakness, that is life.

User avatar
Tremayne7
Crafting Master
Crafting Master
Posts: 1740
Joined: Wed Jan 16, 2008 12:00 am
Location: Richmond,VA USA
Contact:

Re: Loss of Racial stat bonuses when shape shifted.

Post by Tremayne7 » Wed Feb 03, 2010 10:39 pm

I have it happen as well. I've had Peter (Aasimar/Ranger/Druid) and I've lost stat points as well as it as to do with the creature you are shifted into. I am not sure about shifters in general or changlings. So I believe it is a game engine limitation.
Second Star to the Right and Straight on 'til Morning

User avatar
terror2001
The One
The One
Posts: 3809
Joined: Wed Jan 25, 2006 12:00 am
Location: GMT -7(-6)

Re: Loss of Racial stat bonuses when shape shifted.

Post by terror2001 » Wed Feb 03, 2010 11:07 pm

Druids using their wild shape ability (or whatever it is called), others casting a polymorph spell, and shifters all get their stats changed because they change INTO the target creature. Changelings retain their stats because they remain a Changeling (they are not really the creature they look like).

User avatar
Greg-Pooh
Head DM
Head DM
Posts: 1912
Joined: Fri Dec 26, 2008 3:00 am

Re: Loss of Racial stat bonuses when shape shifted.

Post by Greg-Pooh » Wed Feb 03, 2010 11:34 pm

terror2001 wrote:Druids using their wild shape ability (or whatever it is called), others casting a polymorph spell, and shifters all get their stats changed because they change INTO the target creature. Changelings retain their stats because they remain a Changeling (they are not really the creature they look like).
For Druids, the Mental stats are supposed to remain unchanged from the original form. The trouble Vincent is having is that his willpower (which by D&D rules should remain constant) is lowering when he changes into animal form.
"If you don't like yourself you can't like other people." ~Robert Heinlein

Akai
Hala DM
Hala DM
Posts: 662
Joined: Thu Aug 02, 2007 12:00 am

Re: Loss of Racial stat bonuses when shape shifted.

Post by Akai » Wed Feb 03, 2010 11:51 pm

I think it's probably a normal Bioware thing. I had a halforc shifter character once whose intelligence and charisma went up when shifting. Basically, while shifted you lose your racial bonuses (and penalties) because you are no longer the race to which they apply.

(And also lose the effects of almost all your gear, so stat-boosting or spell-slot-boosting effects from gear are lost while shifted.)

Samhaim
Team Member; Retired with honors
Posts: 1097
Joined: Thu Dec 13, 2007 12:00 am

Re: Loss of Racial stat bonuses when shape shifted.

Post by Samhaim » Wed Feb 03, 2010 11:57 pm

Mechanically, I believe it has to do with the PC skin that your bic file assigns. When you polymorph, it changes to the skin of the new creature (which is why you loose all racial bonuses)

User avatar
terror2001
The One
The One
Posts: 3809
Joined: Wed Jan 25, 2006 12:00 am
Location: GMT -7(-6)

Re: Loss of Racial stat bonuses when shape shifted.

Post by terror2001 » Thu Feb 04, 2010 7:33 pm

Yep, that is what I was referring to, the PC hide. Changelings only change appearance, not the hide like those other abilities do.

Post Reply